Home > Music > I’ll Write You A Song

I’ll Write You A Song

October 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

A devastating circumstance shook my world almost two years ago which prompted me to explore music further and start writing my own songs. Before that point in my life, I never knew I was capable of doing that. Every time I held my keyboard or guitar, I usually just pounded or strummed a couple of chords chopped from a good song of a known artist. I found out that songwriting is an excellent way of converting all the negativity in my thoughts and emotions into something creative and tangible for other people to listen or even relate to.

I was struck with disbelief when I wrote my very first original. At the same time, there was a mixed feeling of satisfaction and pride with the lyrics, melody and rhythm I came up with for I knew that all of them were created by me. However, I had no idea then if they were good enough for others to listen to. Fortunately, the first people I asked to hear my early works were kind enough to give me the pat on the back I needed. Thanks, friends! haha Since then, I never stopped writing.

Usually, I would spend the late hours of the night strumming my guitar, repeatedly playing a chord progression until I come up with a melody that suited my mood. It was a trial and error process until I arrived at something that really sounded great to me. Then, I start thinking of the words that would complement the melody and rhythm I created. There were some instances when the lyrics came first but those were very rare. I often start with the music.

I’m very thankful to Mathew, Dawn, Chemae and Francis, my bandmates in Manaha, who helped me put some of these songs to life. Without them, my songs’ demos would forever sound like a mad cow singing with a guitar. I really dream of the day when all of us would share the same stage again. Until that moment comes, I’ll just keep on mooing and writing my heart out.

But music was his life, it was not his livelihood
And it made him feel so happy and it made him feel so good.
And he sang from his heart and he sang from his soul
He did not know how well he sang; it just made him whole. ~ Harry Chapin, Mr. Tanner

Tags:
  1. November 7, 2011 at 11:17 AM

    i didn’t know you had a blog and that you’re a musician! Dennis used to be in a band too, he used to play the bass for Enemies Of Saturn 🙂

    • November 7, 2011 at 10:37 PM

      really?! haha wow! it would be great to jam with him. jr, melai’s partner, plays percussion too. maybe we could start a blogger’s groupie band 😉 haha

  2. November 10, 2011 at 11:23 PM

    Sorry, our band run had to be cut short. I enjoyed every jamming sessions and the few gigs we had man. I’ll make it up to the band once I return for good, til then, don’t stop writing songs, who knows where it’ll take you. Good luck and see you guys really soon!

  3. November 12, 2011 at 12:37 AM

    i understand, man. don’t worry about it. we’ll do something epic when the five of us get together again. hehe i just know it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

